Skip to content

Farming is a Dangerous Occupation

July 12, 2010
tags:

A little over a week ago, I was trying to put the brush hog on the 3-point of the tractor. It’s hard to mount, so I gave it a hard tug towards me. When I did that, I pulled it completely off the 3-point and onto my foot! It wasn’t running, but it *was* heavy, and it pinned my foot to the ground. I yelled at the top of my lungs, and Sue killed the tractor while I freed my foot. She drove me to the house and snagged a bag of ice and a painkiller, and then she took me to the emergency room in Stillwater. Here’s what it looked like after they had cleaned it up in the ER:

I didn't even realize it was bleeding until I got to the house

The good news: no broken bones!

Heckuva bruise, too

The bad news: it required four stitches.

Thanks to Dr. Moore for doing such a nice job of stitching me up! We took the stitches out over the weekend, and I’m almost good as new now.

Um, Fred Flintstone called and he wants his feet back...

You know it’s a slow week on the farm when I start posting pictures of my injured foot 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stephen permalink
    July 12, 2010 6:34 pm

    Oooouuucchhh! How many cuss words did you say in a minute or less, Nanc? I say the over and under is 25!

    • July 13, 2010 12:45 pm

      Stephen, that’s a good guess on the over under, except I was screamin’ too loud to even cuss! It was more like “Aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeaaaaeeeeeeeee!” if you know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

