Skip to content

We’re Baaaack

June 2, 2010

Shoot, I did not plan to take a whole month off from scratching on this blog! May found me hustling to keep up with fence moving and with being totally buried by my off-farm job. I also have been going round and round with YouTube trying to upload videos. I’m about to give up and find an alternative place to host them–do y’all have any suggestions? In the meantime, I was able to get this cute vignette uploaded:

Just goes to prove that all species of Okie do like poke salad, LOL. YouTube is bumming me, because I have some neat grazing video that shows the progression of the pasture through the month of May. Once I find a way to share those with y’all, I think we’ll just have to take a trip back into time.

We also took the last of our 2009 lamb crop to the processor in May, and I’m happy/hate to report that we’ve sold out of almost all our cuts. We have some ribs and sirloin roasts, we have some kidney/heart/liver/tongue, and we have our delicious frozen lamb stock, but all of our other cuts are *gone* for the season. Don’t worry, we’ll have more available starting in late August or early September. One thing we are going to change for our 2010 lamb crop is that we are going to offer sausage with every group that goes to the processor. Our sausage is so popular, it is probably time to go ahead and offer it year-round instead of seasonally as we’ve done in the past. The main change there is that the sausage won’t be whole lamb sausage–we’ll just grind shoulder and trim (and maybe the occasional sirloin). Doing that might make our stew meat more scarce, so if you are a fan of that cut, be sure to let us know, and we can adjust the processing instructions to accommodate you.

I’d like to take the opportunity to thank all you who purchased grassfinished lamb from us over the past year. While we won’t have any available for a few more months, I’ll still try to keep you up to date on all of our farm activities here at Blogsville. We sure do appreciate all of your support!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

