Skip to content

It’s All Her Fault

April 4, 2010

Oh, my! Has it been almost 3 weeks since my last post?

Sigh…

Right as we were about to finish up lambing, Sue had to leave for a week in Kansas. And a yearling Nigerian Dwarf doe decided to have twins–one large buckling and one tiny, tiny little doeling. The first day, I kept a close eye on them, and the teenie girl seemed to be holding her own with big brother. However, when I checked on them first thing Day 2, the little doe was hunched up and starting to get chilled. Now–let me paint a picture. When I say “little doe,” I mean little, as in weighing maybe 2 lbs and only slightly bigger than my hand. IOW, small even by Nigerian Dwarf standards!

Here she is at 2 weeks of age, still not much bigger than the bottle!

So, I scooped her up, took her to the house, found the smallest diaper I could find and swaddled her in it, and gave her a bottle. Fortunately (?) we already had 3 lambs on the bottle, so I had milk replacer handy. At first, she was so small, she was only able to drink about 1/2 an ounce at a time. The first couple of nights, I slept in the recliner with her laying on my chest, and fed her every time she woke me up. Now, three weeks later, she’s able to be fed every 7 hours and she drinks 6 ounces at a time! I named her Frostie Mug of Root Beer (she is registerable, after all), and everyone who has met her is in love with her lively, vivacious personality. Very soon she’ll be big enough to go outside with the other goats (right now, she thinks she’s a person), and before you know it, she’ll be full-grown. She’s a tough one, that Frostie 🙂

It’s hard to be mad at a goat this cute, even though she’s monopolized my spare time for three weeks. I have a backlog of lots of stuff to share, so I promise to post prolifically for a while. Thanks for your patience with the absence of info from Cordero Farms, and it’s nice to be back.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 8:13 pm

    Nanc, is it me or does she have blue eyes, and if so, is that common with goats?

  2. April 5, 2010 3:30 am

    Common in sheep is what I meant, but come to think of it, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a blue eyed goat either.

    • April 5, 2010 7:04 am

      Stephen,

      I have never seen a blue-eyed sheep in more than 30 years of raising them! When I saw that pic after I loaded it, I did a double-take and went and picked up Frostie! Nope, she’s not blue-eyed–it was a trick of the flash. I do have a couple of blue-eyed Nigerian Dwarf goats (like Frostie). They aren’t common, but they are popular, so they usually fetch a higher price.

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 5, 2010 6:37 am

    glad your back! I’ll have a talk with frosty when she comes over for her play date with Lily this weekend:)

  4. Sue permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:45 pm

    Who won the MOY contest?

  5. April 7, 2010 8:48 am

    When is Frostie coming for her sleepover?! Lily can’t wait to play with her!

    • April 7, 2010 8:56 am

      OMG, you are going to have to whip out the video camera when those two get together. I’m thinking Friday a.m., say 8-ish? Sound ok?

      • April 7, 2010 10:14 am

        Sounds great! I’ll be there for sure. I imagine Lisa will too. Bring her on over!

Leave a Reply

