Skip to content

The Stragglers

March 14, 2010

I also could have titled this post, “And Why Did We Leave the Ram In An Extra Week?” We are down to 2 ewes left–2 stragglers. I’d love to take a picture of them to show you the procrastinators, but the camera has definitely died and the new one won’t arrive for a couple of days. I think they’ll pop sometime in the next day or two, and then we can move back to a normal day-to-day schedule.

In the meantime, I thought I would give credit to the prolific sire of all of these beautiful babies.

Dante poses with the young rams and the ducks on a rainy day before lambing started

This is the first lamb crop we’ve gotten out of Dante since purchasing him from a Wisconsin sheep dairy two years ago. The first year, he contracted a case of blue tongue (blasted mosquitos!), so we had to rest him. He is the half-brother of our former herdsire, Bruce. Their father was an incredibly successful dairy ram, the famous 3330. Sometime this week, Dante will go in with the last group of yearlings sired by Bruce. We are hoping to get about 15-20 of them bred to lamb in August. Of the two young rams pictured, we’re probably going to keep the white one, Bloomberg. The black one, Kiki, is for sale.

Since I can’t post a picture of our two stragglin’ ewes, here’s a video post of the best “stragglers” in Oklahoma–Jason Boland and the Stragglers 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 7:07 pm

    Hey Nanc, what type of straw is that the ducks are standing on? It almost looks like winter rye because of the the stem thickness. If it is, and you’ve got a supplier let me know. I’d like to get some round bales of rye next year for winter fodder.

    • March 15, 2010 7:18 pm

      Stephen, it’s actually some mediocre johnsongrass hay I got from my neighbor. I don’t know of any winter rye around here, but I am going to be getting some nice oat hay from a guy at Arcadia that I buy from every year. If you want some of that, just let me know. The sheep vacuum it up, and the waste makes really nice bedding. Are you going to be at Delivery Day Thursday? If so, I look forward to meeting you!

      • March 15, 2010 8:15 pm

        Yes, let me know about the oat hay. I grow oats here for forage but don’t bale it since there’s nothing left to bale after a pig gets through with it:) I won’t be there this Thursday because it’s such a busy time planting. Once planting slows down I plan to start coming down to OKC. I look forward to meeting you guys too!

Leave a Reply

