Skip to content

Local Food, Recipes, and Our Second MOY Nominee

March 7, 2010

Wow, it was great to meet so many Oklahoma Food Co-op members during yesterday’s Meet-N-Eat at the Annual Meeting. I hope y’all had as much fun as we did. We came away invigorated and energized, excited about the local food movement here in Oklahoma. In addition, we recently agreed to become the lamb producer for Latimer’s Kitchen, a buying club based in Edmond. Joining with them has made me realize our local food movement is well developed beyond what policymakers, academics, and legislative officials think they can see. It’s an exciting time to be involved these endeavors! 

Tonight, I think I’m going to cook a slab of lamb ribs, since I didn’t really get to sample any from yesterday 🙂 I’ll take good pictures and post a “Let’s Cook!” entry so that anyone interested can follow along. I’ll also post the recipe for the italian lamb sausage meatballs we served yesterday. We’re getting low on our italian sausage inventory, so I won’t be cooking it for us so that I can leave more for y’all… in other words, I won’t have pictures for an italian sausage “Let’s Cook,” but I will go ahead and post the recipe so that you can have it. For those of you new to our blog, I try to post a recipe with follow-along-pictures of how to prepare a different cut of lamb every month. To see some of the older posts, just select the ‘Cooking’ category from the drop down menu to the right. 

OK, it’s time to announce our second Mother of the Year Nominee: say hello to Fargo (yes, that’s one of my all-time favorite movies). 

Fargo and her two girls, Tioga and Manitou, shortly after their birth

 

Fargo is one of our oldest (she’s 8 years) and biggest ewes, and I almost considered culling her after I had a lot of trouble keeping weight on her during last year’s pregnancy. However, she really bounced back last summer after weaning her lambs and seemed to do even better during this year’s pregnancy. The reward for being patient? Two beautiful ewe lambs. Fargo is a very attentive mother, always knowing her kid’s location(s) and always feeding both at the same time. She has an udder as big as a sack of groceries, so both of her daughters from this year are likely to stay in the flock for years to come. At the same time, Fargo is the first sheep to greet us when we go into the pen and is friendly even with strangers. All in all, she’s a worthy nominee, and she’s earned another year in the flock.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 6:12 am

    Nice website! I’ve got you guys favorited and put a link to your blog on my blog.

  2. March 9, 2010 9:32 am

    Thanks a bunch, Stephen! We try to bring the farm to folks, since most folks can’t come to the farm (and wouldn’t want to right now–what a muddy mess!)

    What I want to know is this: what kind of video camera do y’all use? I love your video blogs, even with that UGA accent 😉

  3. March 9, 2010 2:23 pm

    Nancy, I use a Flip Ultra HD recorder. I bought mine on-line, but I think Wal-mart has started selling them as well.

Leave a Reply

