Skip to content

There Is No Joy In Mudville

February 5, 2010

And it has nothing to do with Casey, but more to do with the El NiÑo Southern Ocillation (ENSO). A really wet snow on top of a lot of ice, no sun, almost no wind, and a string of cold days and nights has left us with more mud than we have even with the late spring downpours. I think the ewes are weathering (pun intended) the grayness better than I am; of course, the sheep are much more stoic than I’ll ever be.

This low place only has standing water when the ground is *really* saturated

I couldn’t bear to post a ‘mud pic.’ I know y’all are probably thinking that I’m obsessed with the weather (you’d be right), but lambs will be arriving soon, and a nice little warmup in advance would give me a ray of hope for spring. In the meantime, enjoy these charts which reflect more what I expected for lambing… a little wetter with near normal temps, not a LOT wetter with continued cold/cool temps:

That spot NE of OKC, that's us! Supposedly slightly wetter?

Same spot NE of OKC, white for NEAR NORMAL! (Yeah, right)

Am I suffering from SAD, such that I might be blowing this out of proportion? Perhaps. Just give me one sunny day, and all will be forgiven, you silly bambino. (You can see full-sized versions of these charts here)

Leave a Reply

